Personal tools

Issue Alert - 10-01-09

Document Actions
Date:

Jan 12, 2010

Program Area:

Child Development and Care (CDC)

Issue Summary:

Child care aides and relative providers will have new training requirements and options. Beginning March 7, 2010, new CDC enrollees must complete a 6 hour Orientation in order to be enrolled. Existing child care aides and relative providers must complete the Orientation by September 19, 2010 or they will no longer qualify for CDC payments. Providers who complete additional, optional training will earn an additional 25 cents per hour, up to a maximum of $585 per year.

Persons Affected:

Individuals enrolled or seeking enrollment as a CDC child care aide or relative provider

For More Information:

Center for Civil Justice 320 S. Washington, 2nd Floor Saginaw, MI 48607 (989) 755-3120, (800)724-7441 Fax: (989) 755-3558 E-mail: info@ccj-mi.org

Michigan Poverty Law Program 611 Church Street, Suite 4A Ann Arbor, MI 48104-3000 (734) 998-6100 (734) 998-9125 Fax


Background

DHS and the legislature have been concerned about the quality of care for children who are cared for in unregulated settings (children cared for in their own home by a child care aide, or by a relative in the relative‚Äôs home).  

What's Happening?

As part of the Fiscal Year 2010 Appropriations Act for DHS, new training requirements and options have been created.  DHS has sent letters to current child care aide and relative providers, explaining these new requirements and options.

ORIENTATION REQUIREMENT

Beginning March 7, 2010, Day Care Aides and Relative Providers must complete a 6 hour Orientation before they can be enrolled.  This applies to providers who are not currently enrolled.  The Orientation is free and includes first aid and CPR training, as well as training on nutrition, health and safety, shaken baby syndrome, and safe sleep practices. The Orientation is provided at no cost to the providers.

Beginning September 18, 2010. Current providers will not qualify for DHS payment unless they have completed the Orientation.

TRAINING OPTION

Providers who complete 10 additional hours of approved training will qualify for an hourly payment increase of 25 cents per hour, for up to a maximum of $585 per year.

More information is available online at www.greatstartforkids.org, or at Michigan.gov/childcare

 

What Should Advocates Do?

1.     Make sure providers and parents are aware of the new requirements and options

2.     Help clients connect with orientation/training resources

What Should Clients Do?

 Sign up early for Orientation or training.

Finding Help

Most legal aid and legal services offices handle these types of cases, and they do not charge a fee.

You can locate various sources of legal and related services, including the free legal aid office that serves your county, at MichiganLegalAid.org.

You can also look in the yellow pages under "attorneys" or call the toll-free lawyer referral number, (800) 968-0738.